how confident are you on the stock knock detection ?

If it isnt a problem or a suggestion it probably goes here.

Moderator: Matt

chris2712au

how confident are you on the stock knock detection ?

Post by chris2712au »

would like to get a little poll going on who actually finds the knock system is reliable to be taken seriously... I cant hear any audible knock in mine but yet it still jumps to the knock maps..

how come the poll does not work ? it says you must enter two then it says thats too many ???
modulation

Post by modulation »

Disclaimer: I'm NA, my nissan isn't my daily driver and I can get a used ka24de for $400 easily so I'm not as cautious as I should be.

I'm a amateur, but from everything I've read with Nissan tuners they either disable it, or they use the knock sensor with an external op-amp.

For me the stock knock detection gives way too many false positives, I simply ignore it and go by ear and have even disabled the "bit" in my nistune tune as well as turning off the feedback in the timing map.
Matt
Site Admin

Post by Matt »

PL has the same opinion and I've heard it from other tuners

The factory knock sensing is too sensitive and can end up landing you in the knock tables a lot when it shouldnt be

On the other side I found that Pete was picking up knocking using headphones but with Nistune pulling the knock count from the ECU it wasnt always reporting all the time. After that I've reduced the importance of reporting knock from the ECU to focus on other things like sorting out address files and finding more tables/how they work etc
chris2712au

Post by chris2712au »

yeah now I have that light on there.. I can see that I am in the knock tables alot.. so I think I will disable it too.. there is nothing audible anyway.. and most of the time on decel it goes off from a light backfire.. it isnt a bang back fire just a pop..
chris2712au

Post by chris2712au »